To-Do List

Introduced in GitLab 8.5.

Your To-Do List is a chronological list of items waiting for your input. The items are known as to-do items.

You can use the To-Do List to track actions related to:

Access the To-Do List

To access your To-Do List:

On the top bar, in the top right, select To-Do List ().

Actions that create to-do items

Many to-do items are created automatically. A to-do item is added to your To-Do List when:

  • An issue or merge request is assigned to you.
  • You’re @mentioned in the description or comment of an issue, merge request, or epic.
  • You are @mentioned in a comment on a commit or design.
  • The CI/CD pipeline for your merge request fails.
  • An open merge request cannot be merged due to conflict, and one of the following is true:
    • You’re the author.
    • You’re the user that set the merge request to automatically merge after a pipeline succeeds.
  • In GitLab 13.2 and later, a merge request is removed from a merge train, and you’re the user that added it.

When several actions occur for the same user on the same object, GitLab displays the first action as a single to-do item.

To-do items aren’t affected by GitLab notification email settings.

Create a to-do item

You can manually add an item to your To-Do List.

  1. Go to your:

  2. On the right sidebar, at the top, select Add a to do.

    Adding a to-do item from the issuable sidebar

Create a to-do item by directly addressing someone

Introduced in GitLab 9.0.

You can create a to-do item by directly addressing someone at the start of a line. For example, in the following comment:

@alice What do you think? cc: @bob

- @carol can you please have a look?

>>>
@dan what do you think?
>>>

@erin @frank thank you!

The people who receive to-do items are @alice, @erin, and @frank.

To view to-do items where a user was directly addressed, go to the To-Do List and from the Action filter, select Directly addressed.

Mentioning a user many times only creates one to-do item.

Actions that mark a to-do item as done

Any action to an issue, merge request, or epic marks its corresponding to-do item as done.

Actions that dismiss to-do items include:

  • Changing the assignee
  • Changing the milestone
  • Closing the issue or merge request
  • Adding or removing a label
  • Commenting on the issue
  • Resolving a design discussion thread

If someone else closes, merges, or takes action on an issue, merge request, or epic, your to-do item remains pending.

Mark a to-do item as done

You can manually mark a to-do item as done.

There are two ways to do this:

  • In the To-Do List, to the right of the to-do item, select Done.
  • In the sidebar of an issue, merge request, or epic, select Mark as done.

    Mark as done from the sidebar

Mark all to-do items as done

You can mark all your to-do items as done at the same time.

In the To-Do List, in the top right, select Mark all as done.

How a user’s To-Do List is affected when their access changes

For security reasons, GitLab deletes to-do items when a user no longer has access to a related resource. For example, if the user no longer has access to an issue, merge request, epic, project, or group, GitLab deletes the related to-do items.

This process occurs in the hour after their access changes. Deletion is delayed to prevent data loss, in case the user’s access was accidentally revoked.