Users can be deleted from a GitLab instance, either by:
- The user themselves.
- An administrator.
As a user, to delete your own account:
- In the top-right corner, select your avatar.
- Select Edit profile.
- In the left sidebar, select Account.
- Select Delete account.
As an administrator, to delete a user account:
- On the top bar, select Menu > Admin.
- On the left sidebar, select Overview > Users.
- Select a user.
- Under the Account tab, select:
- Delete user to delete only the user but maintain their associated records.
- Delete user and contributions to delete the user and their associated records.
There are two options for deleting users:
- Delete user
- Delete user and contributions
When using the Delete user option, not all associated records are deleted with the user. Here’s a list of things that are not deleted:
- Issues that the user created.
- Merge requests that the user created.
- Notes that the user created.
- Abuse reports that the user reported.
- Award emoji that the user created.
Instead of being deleted, these records are moved to a system-wide user with the username “Ghost User”, whose sole purpose is to act as a container for such records. Any commits made by a deleted user still display the username of the original user.
When using the Delete user and contributions option, all associated records are removed. This includes all of the items mentioned above including issues, merge requests, notes/comments, and more. Consider blocking a user or using the Delete user option instead.
When a user is deleted from an abuse report or spam log, these associated records are not ghosted and are removed, along with any groups the user is a sole owner of. Administrators can also request this behavior when deleting users from the API or the Admin Area.