GitLab Pages Access Control

Version history
  • Introduced in GitLab 11.5.
  • Available on GitLab.com in GitLab 12.4.

You can enable Pages access control on your project, so that only members of your project (at least Guest) can access your website:

  1. Navigate to your project’s Settings > General > Permissions.
  2. Toggle the Pages button to enable the access control.

    Note: If you don’t see the toggle button, that means that it’s not enabled. Ask your administrator to enable it.
  3. The Pages access control dropdown allows you to set who can view pages hosted with GitLab Pages, depending on your project’s visibility:

    • If your project is private:
      • Only project members: Only project members will be able to browse the website.
      • Everyone: Everyone, both logged into and logged out of GitLab, will be able to browse the website, no matter their project membership.
    • If your project is internal:
      • Only project members: Only project members will be able to browse the website.
      • Everyone with access: Everyone logged into GitLab will be able to browse the website, no matter their project membership.
      • Everyone: Everyone, both logged into and logged out of GitLab, will be able to browse the website, no matter their project membership.
    • If your project is public:
      • Only project members: Only project members will be able to browse the website.
      • Everyone with access: Everyone, both logged into and logged out of GitLab, will be able to browse the website, no matter their project membership.
  4. Click Save changes.

The next time someone tries to access your website and the access control is enabled, they will be presented with a page to sign into GitLab and verify they can access the website.

Terminating a Pages session

If you want to log out from your Pages website, you can do so by revoking application access token for GitLab Pages:

  1. Navigate to your profile’s Settings > Applications.
  2. Find Authorized applications at the bottom of the page.
  3. Find GitLab Pages and press the Revoke button.