Group wikis

Introduced in GitLab 13.5.

If you use GitLab groups to manage multiple projects, some of your documentation might span multiple groups. You can create group wikis, instead of project wikis, to ensure all group members have the correct access permissions to contribute. Group wikis are similar to project wikis, with a few limitations:

For updates, follow the epic that tracks feature parity with project wikis.

Similar to project wikis, group members with at least the Developer role and higher can edit group wikis. Group wiki repositories can be moved using the Group repository storage moves API.

View a group wiki

To access a group wiki:

  1. On the top bar, select Menu > Groups and find your group.
  2. To display the wiki, either:

Export a group wiki

Introduced in GitLab 13.9.

Users with the Owner role in a group can import and export group wikis when importing or exporting a group.

Content created in a group wiki is not deleted when an account is downgraded or a GitLab trial ends. The group wiki data is exported whenever the group owner of the wiki is exported.

To access the group wiki data from the export file if the feature is no longer available, you have to:

  1. Extract the export file tarball with this command, replacing FILENAME with your file’s name: tar -xvzf FILENAME.tar.gz
  2. Browse to the repositories directory. This directory contains a Git bundle with the extension .wiki.bundle.
  3. Clone the Git bundle into a new repository, replacing FILENAME with your bundle’s name: git clone FILENAME.wiki.bundle

All files in the wiki are available in this Git repository.

Configure group wiki visibility

Introduced in GitLab 15.0.

Wikis are enabled by default in GitLab. Group administrators can enable or disable a group wiki through the group settings.

To open group settings:

  1. On the top bar, select Menu > Groups and find your group.
  2. On the left sidebar, select Settings > General.
  3. Expand Permissions and group features.
  4. Scroll to Wiki and select one of these options:
    • Enabled: Everyone who can access the group can access the wiki.
    • Private: Only group members can access the wiki.
    • Disabled: The wiki isn’t accessible, and cannot be downloaded.
  5. Select Save changes.