Members of a project

You can manage the groups and users and their access levels in all of your projects. You can also personalize the access level you give each user, per-project.

You should have Maintainer or Owner permissions to add or import a new user to your project.

To view, edit, add, and remove project’s members, go to your project’s Members.

Inherited membership

When your project belongs to the group, group members inherit the membership and permission level for the project from the group.

Project members page

From the image above, we can deduce the following things:

  • There are 3 members that have access to the project.
  • User0 is a Reporter and has inherited their permissions from group demo which contains current project.
  • User1 is shown as a Direct member in the Source column, therefore they belong directly to the project we’re inspecting.
  • Administrator is the Owner and member of all groups and for that reason, there is an indication of an ancestor group and inherited Owner permissions.

Filter and sort members

Version history

The following sections illustrate how you can filter and sort members in a project. To view these options, navigate to your desired project, go to Members, and include the noted search terms.

Membership filter

By default, inherited and direct members are displayed. The membership filter can be used to display only inherited or only direct members.

Display inherited members

To display inherited members, include Membership = Inherited in the search text box.

Project members filter inherited

Display direct members

To display direct members, include Membership = Direct in the search text box.

Project members filter direct

You can search for members by name, username, or email.

Project members search

Sort

You can sort members by Account, Access granted, Max role, or Last sign-in in ascending or descending order.

Project members sort

Add a user

Right next to People, start typing the name or username of the user you want to add.

Search for people

Select the user and the permission level that you’d like to give the user. You can add more than one user at a time. The Owner role can only be assigned at the group level.

Give user permissions

Once done, select Add users to project and they are immediately added to your project with the permissions you gave them above.

List members

From there on, you can either remove an existing user or change their access level to the project.

Import users from another project

You can import another project’s users in your own project by hitting the Import members button on the upper right corner of the Members menu.

In the dropdown menu, you can see only the projects you are Maintainer on.

Import members from another project

Select the one you want and hit Import project members. A flash message displays, notifying you that the import was successful, and the new members are now in the project’s members list. Notice that the permissions that they had on the project you imported from are retained.

Members list of new members

Invite people using their e-mail address

noteIn GitLab 13.11, you can replace this form with a modal window.

If a user you want to give access to doesn’t have an account on your GitLab instance, you can invite them just by typing their e-mail address in the user search field.

Invite user by mail

As you can imagine, you can mix inviting multiple people and adding existing GitLab users to the project.

Invite user by mail ready to submit

Once done, hit Add users to project and watch that there is a new member with the e-mail address we used above. From there on, you can resend the invitation, change their access level, or even delete them.

Invite user members list

While unaccepted, the system automatically sends reminder emails on the second, fifth, and tenth day after the invitation was initially sent.

After the user accepts the invitation, they are prompted to create a new GitLab account using the same e-mail address the invitation was sent to.

noteUnaccepted invites are automatically deleted after 90 days.

Add a member modal window

Version history
  • Introduced in GitLab 13.11.
  • Deployed behind a feature flag, disabled by default.
  • Enabled on GitLab.com.
  • Recommended for production use.
  • Replaces the existing form with buttons to open a modal window.
  • To use in GitLab self-managed instances, ask a GitLab administrator to enable it.
cautionThis feature might not be available to you. Check the version history note above for details.

In GitLab 13.11, you can optionally replace the form to add a member with a modal window. To add a member after enabling this feature:

  1. Go to your project’s page.
  2. In the left sidebar, go to Members, and then select Invite members.
  3. Enter an email address, and select a role permission for this user.
  4. (Optional) Select an Access expiration date.
  5. Select Invite.

Enable or disable modal window

The modal window for adding a member is under development and is ready for production use. It is deployed behind a feature flag that is disabled by default. GitLab administrators with access to the GitLab Rails console can enable it.

To enable it:

Feature.enable(:invite_members_group_modal)

To disable it:

Feature.disable(:invite_members_group_modal)

Project membership and requesting access

Project owners can :

  • Allow non-members to request access to the project.
  • Prevent non-members from requesting access.

To configure this, go to the project settings and click on Allow users to request access.

GitLab users can request to become a member of a project. Go to the project you’d like to be a member of and click the Request Access button on the right side of your screen.

Request access button

After access is requested:

  • Up to ten project maintainers are notified of the request via email. Email is sent to the most recently active project maintainers.
  • Any project maintainer can approve or decline the request on the members page.
noteIf a project does not have any maintainers, the notification is sent to the most recently active owners of the project’s group.

Manage access requests

If you change your mind before your request is approved, just click the Withdraw Access Request button.

Withdraw access request button

Share project with group

Alternatively, you can share a project with an entire group instead of adding users one by one.

Remove a member from the project

Only users with permissions of Owner can manage project members.

You can remove a user from the project if the given member has a direct membership in the project. If membership is inherited from a parent group, then the member can be removed only from the parent group itself.

When removing a member, you can decide whether to unassign the user from all issues and merge requests they are currently assigned or leave the assignments as they are.

  • Unassigning the removed member from all issues and merge requests might be helpful when a user is leaving a private project and you wish to revoke their access to any issues and merge requests they are assigned.
  • Keeping the issues and merge requests assigned might be helpful for projects that accept public contributions where a user doesn’t have to be a member to be able to contribute to issues and merge requests.

To remove a member from a project:

  1. In a project, go to Members.
  2. Click the Delete button next to a project member you want to remove. A Remove member modal appears.
  3. (Optional) Select the Also unassign this user from related issues and merge requests checkbox.
  4. Click Remove member.