Projects

In GitLab, you can create projects for hosting your codebase, use it as an issue tracker, collaborate on code, and continuously build, test, and deploy your app with built-in GitLab CI/CD.

Your projects can be available publicly, internally, or privately, at your choice. GitLab does not limit the number of private projects you create.

Project’s features

When you create a project in GitLab, you’ll have access to a large number of features:

Repositories:

  • Issue tracker: Discuss implementations with your team within issues
  • Repositories: Host your code in a fully integrated platform
    • Branches: use Git branching strategies to collaborate on code
    • Protected branches: Prevent collaborators from messing with history or pushing code without review
    • Protected tags: Control over who has permission to create tags, and prevent accidental update or deletion
    • Signing commits: use GPG to sign your commits
    • Deploy tokens: Manage project-based deploy tokens that allow permanent access to the repository and Container Registry.
  • Web IDE

Issues and merge requests:

GitLab CI/CD:

Other features:

Project’s integrations

Integrate your project with Jira, Mattermost, Kubernetes, Slack, and a lot more.

New project

Learn how to create a new project in GitLab.

Fork a project

You can fork a project in order to:

  • Collaborate on code by forking a project and creating a merge request from your fork to the upstream project
  • Fork a sample project to work on the top of that

Project settings

Set the project’s visibility level and the access levels to its various pages and perform actions like archiving, renaming or transferring a project.

Read through the documentation on project settings.

Import or export a project

CI/CD for external repositories

Instead of importing a repository directly to GitLab, you can connect your repository as a CI/CD project.

Read through the documentation on CI/CD for external repositories.

Project’s members

Learn how to add members to your projects.

Leave a project

Leave project will only display on the project’s dashboard when a project is part of a group (under a group namespace). If you choose to leave a project you will no longer be a project member, therefore, unable to contribute.

Redirects when changing repository paths

When a repository path changes, it is essential to smoothly transition from the old location to the new one. GitLab provides two kinds of redirects: the web UI and Git push/pull redirects.

Depending on the situation, different things apply.

When renaming a user, changing a group path or renaming a repository:

  • Existing web URLs for the namespace and anything under it (e.g., projects) will redirect to the new URLs.
  • Starting with GitLab 10.3, existing Git remote URLs for projects under the namespace will redirect to the new remote URL. Every time you push/pull to a repository that has changed its location, a warning message to update your remote will be displayed instead of rejecting your action. This means that any automation scripts, or Git clients will continue to work after a rename, making any transition a lot smoother.
  • The redirects will be available as long as the original path is not claimed by another group, user or project.