Blocking and unblocking users

GitLab administrators block and unblock users.

Blocking a user

In order to completely prevent access of a user to the GitLab instance, administrators can choose to block the user.

Users can be blocked via an abuse report, or directly from the Admin Area. To do this:

  1. Navigate to Admin Area > Overview > Users.
  2. Select a user.
  3. Under the Account tab, click Block user.

A blocked user:

  • Cannot log in.
  • Cannot access Git repositories or the API.
  • Does not receive any notifications from GitLab.
  • Cannot use slash commands.

Personal projects, and group and user history of the blocked user are left intact.

Users can also be blocked using the GitLab API.

noteA blocked user does not consume a seat.

Unblocking a user

A blocked user can be unblocked from the Admin Area. To do this:

  1. Navigate to Admin Area > Overview > Users.
  2. Click on the Blocked tab.
  3. Select a user.
  4. Under the Account tab, click Unblock user.

Users can also be unblocked using the GitLab API.

noteUnblocking a user changes the user’s state to active and consumes a seat.