Activating and deactivating users

GitLab administrators can deactivate and activate users.

Deactivating a user

Introduced in GitLab 12.4.

In order to temporarily prevent access by a GitLab user that has no recent activity, administrators can choose to deactivate the user.

Deactivating a user is functionally identical to blocking a user, with the following differences:

  • It does not prohibit the user from logging back in via the UI.
  • Once a deactivated user logs back into the GitLab UI, their account is set to active.

A deactivated user:

  • Cannot access Git repositories or the API.
  • Will not receive any notifications from GitLab.
  • Will not be able to use slash commands.

Personal projects, and group and user history of the deactivated user will be left intact.

A user can be deactivated from the Admin Area. To do this:

  1. Navigate to Admin Area > Overview > Users.
  2. Select a user.
  3. Under the Account tab, click Deactivate user.

Please note that for the deactivation option to be visible to an admin, the user:

  • Must be currently active.
  • Should not have any activity in the last 180 days.

Users can also be deactivated using the GitLab API.

Note: A deactivated user does not consume a seat.

Activating a user

Introduced in GitLab 12.4.

A deactivated user can be activated from the Admin Area.

To do this:

  1. Navigate to Admin Area > Overview > Users.
  2. Click on the Deactivated tab.
  3. Select a user.
  4. Under the Account tab, click Activate user.

Users can also be activated using the GitLab API.

Note: Activating a user will change the user’s state to active and it consumes a seat.
Tip: A deactivated user can also activate their account by themselves by simply logging back via the UI.