GitLab Documentation

Projects

In GitLab, you can create projects for hosting your codebase, use it as an issue tracker, collaborate on code, and continuously build, test, and deploy your app with built-in GitLab CI/CD.

Your projects can be available publicly, internally, or privately, at your choice. GitLab does not limit the number of private projects you create.

Project's features

When you create a project in GitLab, you'll have access to a large number of features:

Issues and merge requests:

GitLab CI/CD:

Other features:

Project's integrations

Integrate your project with Jira, Mattermost, Kubernetes, Slack, and a lot more.

New project

Learn how to create a new project in GitLab.

Fork a project

You can fork a project in order to:

Project settings

Set the project's visibility level and the access levels to its various pages and perform actions like archiving, renaming or transferring a project.

Read through the documentation on project settings.

Import or export a project

Project's members

Learn how to add members to your projects.

Leave a project

Leave project will only display on the project's dashboard when a project is part of a group (under a group namespace). If you choose to leave a project you will no longer be a project member, therefore, unable to contribute.

Redirects when changing repository paths

When a repository path changes, it is essential to smoothly transition from the old location to the new one. GitLab provides two kinds of redirects: the web UI and Git push/pull redirects.

Depending on the situation, different things apply.

When transferring a project, or renaming a user or changing a group path:

When renaming-a-repository, the same things apply, except for the Git push/pull actions which will be rejected with a warning message to change to the new remote URL.