inactive_projects_deletion. On GitLab.com, this feature is not available. This feature is not ready for production use.
Administrators of large GitLab instances can find that over time, projects become inactive and are no longer used. These projects take up unnecessary disk space. With inactive project deletion, you can identify these projects, warn the maintainers ahead of time, and then delete the projects if they remain inactive. When an inactive project is deleted, the action generates an audit event that it was performed by the first active administrator.
You can configure inactive projects deletion or turn it off using the Application settings API.
The following options are available:
delete_inactive_projects: Enable or disable inactive project deletion.
inactive_projects_min_size_mb: Minimum size (MB) of inactive projects to be considered for deletion. Projects smaller in size than this threshold aren’t considered inactive.
inactive_projects_delete_after_months: Minimum duration (months) after which a project is scheduled for deletion if it continues be inactive.
inactive_projects_send_warning_email_after_months: Minimum duration (months) after which a deletion warning email is sent if a project continues to be inactive. The warning email is sent to users with the Owner and Maintainer roles of the inactive project. This duration should be less than the
In this scenario, when a project’s size is:
- Less than 50 MB, the project is not considered inactive.
- Greater than 50 MB and it is inactive for:
- More than 6 months, a deletion warning is email is sent to users with the Owner and Maintainer role on the project with the scheduled date of deletion.
- More than 12 months, the project is scheduled for deletion.
You can view a project’s activities and determine when the project was last active in the following ways: