Project and group visibility

GitLab allows Owners to set a project’s or group’s visibility as:

  • Public
  • Internal
  • Private

These visibility levels affect who can see the project in the public access directory (/public for your GitLab instance). For example, https://gitlab.com/public. You can control the visibility of individual features with project feature settings.

Public projects and groups

Public projects can be cloned without any authentication over HTTPS.

They are listed in the public access directory (/public) for all users.

Any signed-in user has the Guest role on the repository.

note
By default, /public is visible to unauthenticated users. However, if the Public visibility level is restricted, /public is visible only to signed-in users.

Internal projects and groups

Internal projects can be cloned by any signed-in user except external users.

They are also listed in the public access directory (/public), but only for signed-in users.

Any signed-in users except external users have the Guest role on the repository.

note
From July 2019, the Internal visibility setting is disabled for new projects, groups, and snippets on GitLab.com. Existing projects, groups, and snippets using the Internal visibility setting keep this setting. You can read more about the change in the relevant issue.

Private projects and groups

Private projects can only be cloned and viewed by project members (except for guests).

They appear in the public access directory (/public) for project members only.

Change project visibility

Prerequisite:

  • You must have the Owner role for a project.
  1. On the top bar, select Menu > Projects and find your project.
  2. On the left sidebar, select Settings > General.
  3. Expand Visibility, project features, permissions.
  4. Change Project visibility to either Private, Internal, or Public.
  5. Select Save changes.

Change group visibility

Prerequisite:

  • You must have the Owner role for a group.
  1. On the top bar, select Menu > Groups and find your project.
  2. On the left sidebar, select Settings > General.
  3. Expand Naming, visibility.
  4. Under Visibility level select either Private, Internal, or Public.
  5. Select Save changes.

Restrict use of public or internal projects

You can restrict the use of visibility levels for users when they create a project or a snippet. This is useful to prevent users from publicly exposing their repositories by accident. The restricted visibility settings do not apply to admin users.

For details, see Restricted visibility levels.