Visibility and access controls

GitLab allows administrators to enforce specific controls.

To access the visibility and access control options:

  1. Sign in to GitLab as a user with Administrator role.
  2. On the top bar, select Menu > Admin.
  3. In the left sidebar, select Settings > General.
  4. Expand the Visibility and access controls section.

Default branch protection

This global option defines the branch protection that applies to every repository’s default branch. Branch protection specifies which roles can push to branches and which roles can delete branches. In this case Default refers to a repository’s default branch.

This setting applies only to each repositories’ default branch. To protect other branches, you must configure branch protection in repository. For details, see protected branches.

To change the default branch protection:

  1. Select the desired option.
  2. Click Save changes.

For more details, see Protected branches.

To change this setting for a specific group, see Default branch protection for groups

Disable group owners from updating default branch protection

Introduced in GitLab 13.0.

By default, group owners are allowed to override the branch protection set at the global level.

In GitLab Premium or higher, GitLab administrators can disable this privilege of group owners.

To do this:

  1. Uncheck the Allow owners to manage default branch protection per group checkbox.
noteGitLab administrators can still update the default branch protection of a group.

Default project creation protection

Project creation protection specifies which roles can create projects.

To change the default project creation protection:

  1. Select the desired option.
  2. Click Save changes.

For more details, see Specify who can add projects to a group.

Default project deletion protection

By default, a project can be deleted by anyone with the Owner role, either at the project or group level.

To ensure only Administrator users can delete projects:

  1. Check the Default project deletion protection checkbox.
  2. Click Save changes.

Default deletion delay

Introduced in GitLab 12.6.

By default, a project marked for deletion is permanently removed with immediate effect. By default, a group marked for deletion is permanently removed after seven days.

cautionThe default behavior of Delayed Project deletion in GitLab 12.6 was changed to Immediate deletion in GitLab 13.2.

Projects in a group (but not a personal namespace) can be deleted after a delayed period, by configuring in Group Settings. The default period is seven days, and can be changed. Setting this period to 0 enables immediate removal of projects or groups.

To change this period:

  1. Select the desired option.
  2. Click Save changes.

Override default deletion delayed period

Alternatively, projects that are marked for removal can be deleted immediately. To do so:

  1. Restore the project.
  2. Delete the project as described in the Administering Projects page.

Default project visibility

To set the default visibility levels for new projects:

  1. Select the desired default project visibility.
  2. Click Save changes.

For more details on project visibility, see Project visibility.

Default snippet visibility

To set the default visibility levels for new snippets:

  1. Select the desired default snippet visibility.
  2. Click Save changes.

For more details on snippet visibility, see Project visibility.

Default group visibility

To set the default visibility levels for new groups:

  1. Select the desired default group visibility.
  2. Click Save changes.

For more details on group visibility, see Group visibility.

Restricted visibility levels

To set the restricted visibility levels for projects, snippets, and selected pages:

  1. Select the desired visibility levels to restrict.
  2. Select Save changes.

For more details on project visibility, see Project visibility.

Import sources

To specify from which hosting sites users can import their projects:

  1. Check the checkbox beside the name of each hosting site.
  2. Click Save changes.

Project export

To enable project export:

  1. Check the Project export enabled checkbox.
  2. Click Save changes.

For more details, see Exporting a project and its data.

Enabled Git access protocols

With GitLab access restrictions, you can select with which protocols users can communicate with GitLab.

Disabling an access protocol does not block access to the server itself by using those ports. The ports used for the protocol, SSH or HTTP(S), are still accessible. The GitLab restrictions apply at the application level.

To specify the enabled Git access protocols:

  1. Select the desired Git access protocols from the dropdown:
    • Both SSH and HTTP(S)
    • Only SSH
    • Only HTTP(S)
  2. Click Save changes.

When both SSH and HTTP(S) are enabled, users can choose either protocol.

When only one protocol is enabled:

  • The project page shows only the allowed protocol’s URL, with no option to change it.
  • A tooltip is shown when you hover over the URL’s protocol, if an action on the user’s part is required. For example, adding an SSH key or setting a password.

Project URL with SSH only access

On top of these UI restrictions, GitLab denies all Git actions on the protocol not selected.

cautionGitLab versions 10.7 and later, allow the HTTP(S) protocol for Git clone or fetch requests done by GitLab Runner from CI/CD jobs, even if Only SSH was selected.

Custom Git clone URL for HTTP(S)

Introduced in GitLab 12.4.

You can customize project Git clone URLs for HTTP(S), which affects the clone panel:

Clone panel

For example, if:

  • Your GitLab instance is at https://example.com, then project clone URLs are like https://example.com/foo/bar.git.
  • You want clone URLs that look like https://git.example.com/gitlab/foo/bar.git instead, you can set this setting to https://git.example.com/gitlab/.

Custom Git clone URL for HTTP

To specify a custom Git clone URL for HTTP(S):

  1. Enter a root URL for Custom Git clone URL for HTTP(S).
  2. Click on Save changes.
noteSSH clone URLs can be customized in gitlab.rb by setting gitlab_rails['gitlab_ssh_host'] and other related settings.

RSA, DSA, ECDSA, ED25519 SSH keys

These options specify the permitted types and lengths for SSH keys.

To specify a restriction for each key type:

  1. Select the desired option from the dropdown.
  2. Click Save changes.

For more details, see SSH key restrictions.

Allow mirrors to be set up for projects

This option is enabled by default. By disabling it, both pull and push mirroring no longer work in every repository. They can only be re-enabled by an administrator user on a per-project basis.

Mirror settings