Customize the Help and sign-in page messages

In large organizations, it is useful to have information about who to contact or where to go for help. You can customize and display this information on the GitLab /help page and on the GitLab sign-in page.

Add a help message to the Help page

You can add a help message, which is shown at the top of the GitLab /help page (for example, https://gitlab.com/help):

  1. On the top bar, select Menu > Admin.
  2. In the left sidebar, select Settings > Preferences, then expand Help page.
  3. Under Additional text to show on the Help page, fill in the information you wish to display on /help.
  4. Select Save changes. You can now see the message on /help.
noteBy default, /help is visible to unauthenticated users. However, if the Public visibility level is restricted, /help is visible only to signed-in users.

Add a help message to the sign-in page

You can add a help message, which is shown on the GitLab sign-in page. The message appears in a new section titled Need Help?, located below the sign-in page message:

  1. On the top bar, select Menu > Admin.
  2. In the left sidebar, select Settings > Preferences, then expand Help page.
  3. Under Additional text to show on the sign-in page, fill in the information you wish to display on the sign-in page.
  4. Select Save changes. You can now see the message on the sign-in page.

GitLab marketing-related entries are occasionally shown on the Help page. To hide these entries:

  1. On the top bar, select Menu > Admin.
  2. In the left sidebar, select Settings > Preferences, then expand Help page.
  3. Select the Hide marketing-related entries from the Help page checkbox.
  4. Select Save changes.

Set a custom Support page URL

You can specify a custom URL to which users are directed when they:

  • Select Support from the Help dropdown.
  • Select See our website for help on the Help page.
  1. On the top bar, select Menu > Admin.
  2. In the left sidebar, select Settings > Preferences, then expand Help page.
  3. Enter the URL in the Support page URL field.
  4. Select Save changes.