GitLab Documentation

Project settings

You can adjust your project settings by navigating to your project's homepage and clicking Settings.

General settings

Adjust your project's path and name, description, avatar, default branch, and tags:

general project settings

Sharing and permissions

Set up your project's access, visibility, and enable Container Registry for your projects:

projects sharing permissions

Issue settings

Add an issue description template to your project, so that every new issue will start with a custom template.

Merge request settings

Set up your project's merge request settings:

project's merge request settings

Service Desk

Enable Service Desk for your project to offer customer support. Service Desk is available in GitLab Enterprise Edition Premium.

Export project

Learn how to export a project in GitLab.

Advanced settings

Here you can run housekeeping, archive, rename, transfer, or remove a project.

Archiving a project

Note: Only Project Owners and Admin users have the permission to archive a project

It's possible to mark a project as archived via the Project Settings. An archived project will be hidden by default in the project listings.

An archived project can be fully restored and will therefore retain it's repository and all associated resources whilst in an archived state.


Leave a comment below if you have any feedback on the documentation. For support and other inquires, see getting help.