GitLab Documentation

User account

When signed into their GitLab account, users can customize their experience according to the best approach to their cases.

Signing in

There are several ways to sign into your GitLab account. See the authentication topic for more details.

User profile

Your profile is available from the up-right corner menu bar (user's avatar) > Profile, or from https://example.gitlab.com/username.

On your profile page, you will see the following information:

Profile settings

You can edit your account settings by navigating from the up-right corner menu bar (user's avatar) > Settings, or visiting https://example.gitlab.com/profile.

From there, you can:

Changing your username

Your username is a unique namespace related to your user ID. Changing it can have unintended side effects, read how redirects will behave before proceeding.

To change your username:

  1. Navigate to your profile's Settings > Account.
  2. Enter a new username under "Change username".
  3. Hit Update username.
Caution: It is currently not possible to change your username if it contains a project with Container Registry tags, because the project cannot be moved.
Tip: If you want to retain ownership over the original namespace and protect the URL redirects, then instead of changing a group's path or renaming a username, you can create a new group and transfer projects to it. Alternatively, you can follow this detailed procedure from the GitLab Team Handbook which also covers the case where you have projects hosted with GitLab Pages.

Troubleshooting

Why do I keep getting signed out?

When signing in to the main GitLab application, a _gitlab_session cookie is set. _gitlab_session is cleared client-side when you close your browser and expires after "Application settings -> Session duration (minutes)"/session_expire_delay (defaults to 10080 minutes = 7 days).

When signing in to the main GitLab application, you can also check the "Remember me" option which sets the remember_user_token cookie (via devise). remember_user_token expires after config/initializers/devise.rb -> config.remember_for (defaults to 2 weeks).

When the _gitlab_session expires or isn't available, GitLab uses the remember_user_token to get you a new _gitlab_session and keep you signed in through browser restarts.

After your remember_user_token expires and your _gitlab_session is cleared/expired, you will be asked to sign in again to verify your identity (which is for security reasons).


Leave a comment below if you have any feedback on the documentation. For support and other enquiries, see getting help.