GitLab Documentation

Permissions

Users have different abilities depending on the access level they have in a particular group or project. If a user is both in a group's project and the project itself, the highest permission level is used.

On public and internal projects the Guest role is not enforced. All users will be able to create issues, leave comments, and clone or download the project code.

When a member leaves the team all the assigned Issues and Merge Requests will be unassigned automatically.

GitLab administrators receive all permissions.

To add or import a user, you can follow the project members documentation.

Project members permissions

The following table depicts the various user permission levels in a project.

Action Guest Reporter Developer Master Owner
Create new issue 1
Create confidential issue 1
View confidential issues (✓) 2
Leave comments 1
See related issues
Lock discussions (issues and merge requests)
See a list of jobs 3
See a job log 3
Download and browse job artifacts 3
View wiki pages 1
Pull project code 1
Download project 1
Create code snippets
Manage issue tracker
Manage labels
See a commit status
See a container registry
See environments
Create new environments
Manage related issues
Use environment terminals
Stop environments
See a list of merge requests
Manage/Accept merge requests
Create new merge request
Create new branches
Push to non-protected branches
Force push to non-protected branches
Remove non-protected branches
Add tags
Write a wiki
Cancel and retry jobs
Create or update commit status
Update a container registry
Remove a container registry image
Create/edit/delete project milestones
Add new team members
Push to protected branches
Enable/disable branch protection
Turn on/off protected branch push for devs
Enable/disable tag protections
Rewrite/remove Git tags
Edit project
Add deploy keys to project
Configure project hooks
Manage runners
Manage job triggers
Manage variables
Manage pages
Manage pages domains and certificates
Switch visibility level
Transfer project to another namespace
Remove project
Delete issues
Force push to protected branches 4
Remove protected branches 4
Remove pages
Manage clusters

Project features permissions

Wiki and issues

Project features like wiki and issues can be hidden from users depending on which visibility level you select on project settings.

Protected branches

To prevent people from messing with history or pushing code without review, we've created protected branches. Read through the documentation on protected branches to learn more.

Additionally, you can allow or forbid users with Master and/or Developer permissions to push to a protected branch. Read through the documentation on Allowed to Merge and Allowed to Push settings to learn more.

Cycle Analytics permissions

Find the current permissions on the Cycle Analytics dashboard on the documentation on Cycle Analytics permissions.

Issue Board permissions

Developers and users with higher permission level can use all the functionality of the Issue Board, that is create/delete lists and drag issues around. Read though the documentation on Issue Boards permissions to learn more.

File Locking permissions (EEP)

The user that locks a file or directory is the only one that can edit and push their changes back to the repository where the locked objects are located.

Read through the documentation on permissions for File Locking to learn more.

File Locking is available in GitLab Enterprise Edition Premium only.

Confidential Issues permissions

Confidential issues can be accessed by reporters and higher permission levels, as well as by guest users that create a confidential issue. To learn more, read through the documentation on permissions and access to confidential issues.

Group members permissions

Any user can remove themselves from a group, unless they are the last Owner of the group. The following table depicts the various user permission levels in a group.

Action Guest Reporter Developer Master Owner
Browse group
Edit group
Create subgroup
Create project in group
Manage group members
Remove group
Manage group labels
Create/edit/delete group milestones

Subgroup permissions

When you add a member to a subgroup, they inherit the membership and permission level from the parent group. This model allows access to nested groups if you have membership in one of its parents.

To learn more, read through the documentation on subgroups memberships.

External users permissions

In cases where it is desired that a user has access only to some internal or private projects, there is the option of creating External Users. This feature may be useful when for example a contractor is working on a given project and should only have access to that project.

External users can only access projects to which they are explicitly granted access, thus hiding all other internal or private ones from them. Access can be granted by adding the user as member to the project or group.

They will, like usual users, receive a role in the project or group with all the abilities that are mentioned in the table above. They cannot however create groups or projects, and they have the same access as logged out users in all other cases.

An administrator can flag a user as external through the API or by checking the checkbox on the admin panel. As an administrator, navigate to Admin > Users to create a new user or edit an existing one. There, you will find the option to flag the user as external.

By default new users are not set as external users. This behavior can be changed by an administrator under Admin > Application Settings.

Auditor users

Introduced in GitLab Enterprise Edition Premium 8.17.

Auditor users are given read-only access to all projects, groups, and other resources on the GitLab instance.

Read more about Auditor users.

Project features

Project features like wiki and issues can be hidden from users depending on which visibility level you select on project settings.

GitLab CI/CD permissions

GitLab CI/CD permissions rely on the role the user has in GitLab. There are four permission levels in total:

The admin user can perform any action on GitLab CI/CD in scope of the GitLab instance and project. In addition, all admins can use the admin interface under /admin/runners.

Action Guest, Reporter Developer Master Admin
See commits and jobs
Retry or cancel job
Remove project
Create project
Change project configuration
Add specific runners
Add shared runners
See events in the system
Admin interface

Job permissions

Note: GitLab 8.12 has a completely redesigned job permissions system. Read all about the new model and its implications.

This table shows granted privileges for jobs triggered by specific types of users:

Action Guest, Reporter Developer Master Admin
Run CI job
Clone source and LFS from current project
Clone source and LFS from public projects
Clone source and LFS from internal projects 5 5
Clone source and LFS from private projects 6 6 6
Push source and LFS
Pull container images from current project
Pull container images from public projects
Pull container images from internal projects 5 5
Pull container images from private projects 6 6 6
Push container images to current project
Push container images to other projects

New CI job permissions model

GitLab 8.12 has a completely redesigned job permissions system. To learn more, read through the documentation on the new CI/CD permissions model.

Running pipelines on protected branches

The permission to merge or push to protected branches is used to define if a user can run CI/CD pipelines and execute actions on jobs that are related to those branches.

See Security on protected branches for details about the pipelines security model.

LDAP users permissions

Since GitLab 8.15, LDAP user permissions can now be manually overridden by an admin user. Read through the documentation on LDAP users permissions to learn more.

Auditor users permissions (EEP)

An Auditor user should be able to access all projects and groups of a GitLab instance with the permissions described on the documentation on auditor users permissions.

Auditor users are available in GitLab Enterprise Edition Premium only.


  1. On public and internal projects, all users are able to perform this action. 

  2. Guest users can only view the confidential issues they created themselves 

  3. If Public pipelines is enabled in Project Settings > CI/CD 

  4. Not allowed for Guest, Reporter, Developer, Master, or Owner 

  5. Only if user is not external one. 

  6. Only if user is a member of the project.